Scientific Staff

Primary Investigators       Research Staff       Adjunct Experts
 

Primary Investigators

Philip B. Duffy

Philip B. Duffy, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1504   |   Email  pduffy@whrc.org Expertise  Domestic climate policy, international climate change negotiations, climate change adaptation, extreme weather risk, climate modeling Dr. Duffy is a physicist who has devoted…

Robert Max Holmes, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1548   |   Email  rmholmes@whrc.org Expertise  Arctic, water chemistry, rivers, permafrost, climate change Dr. Holmes is an earth system scientist who studies rivers and their watersheds and how…
Alessandro Baccini

Alessandro Baccini, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1547   |   Email  abaccini@whrc.org Expertise  Pantropics, remote sensing, land use planning, indigenous forest communities Dr. Baccini is a remote sensing scientist whose interests focus on the use of satellite…

Richard A. Birdsey, Ph.D.

Phone   508-444-1576   |   Email   rbirdsey@whrc.org Expertise   North American forests, forest management, inventory and monitoring, carbon cycle, climate change mitigation
Paulo Brando

Paulo Brando, Ph.D.

Phone   508-444-1571   |   Email   pbrando@whrc.org Expertise   Amazon, tropical forest degradation, land use change, remote sensing Dr. Brando is a tropical ecologist whose research explores the vulnerability of…

I. Foster Brown, Ph.D.

Phone  508-540-1574   |   Email  fbrown@whrc.org Expertise  Amazon, education, societal response to climate change Dr. Brown is an environmental geochemist whose research interests focus on global environmental change and sustainable development…
Glenn K. Bush

Glenn K. Bush, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1570   |   Email  gbush@whrc.org Expertise  Africa, environmental and natural resource economics, forest and biodiversity conservation, sustainability Dr. Bush is an environmental economist who specializes in welfare economics, resource…
Michael T. Coe

Michael T. Coe, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1536   |   Email  mtcoe@whrc.org Expertise  Brazil, sustainable agriculture, water resources, climate change Dr. Coe is an earth system scientist who specializes in understanding how human land cover change…

G. Ken Creighton, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1555   |   Email  kcreighton@whrc.org Expertise  Tropical ecology, biogeography and conservation biology, climate change policy and practice related to conservation and management of forests and natural landscapes. Prior to coming…

Linda A. Deegan, Ph.D.

Phone   508-444-1557   |   Email  ldeegan@whrc.org Expertise  Ecosystem dynamics, aquatic ecosystems Dr. Deegan is interested in the relationships between ecosystem dynamics and animal populations. With the knowledge that grazing, predation…
Richard Houghton

Richard A. Houghton, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1516   |   Email rhoughton@whrc.org Expertise  Climate change, global carbon cycle, biofuels, Forest Science Dr. Houghton is an ecologist who studies the role that terrestrial ecosystems play in climate change…
Marcia Macedo

Marcia N. Macedo, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1538    |   Email  mmacedo@whrc.org Expertise  Amazon, ecology, climate change Dr. Macedo is a landscape ecologist interested in understanding the causes of human-induced land change and its consequences for…
Susan M. Natali

Susan M. Natali, Ph.D.

Expertise  Arctic, permafrost, plant and soil sciences, education Dr. Natali’s research examines the response of terrestrial ecosystems to a changing environment, with an emphasis on feedbacks to carbon cycling from…

Christopher Neill, Ph.D.

Phone   508-444-1559   |   Email  cneill@whrc.org Expertise  Tropical ecology, watershed biogeochemistry, plant ecology, ecosystem restoration Dr. Neill is an ecosystem ecologist who studies how changes to land use alter…

Rafe Pomerance

Rafe Pomerance is Chairman of Arctic 21, a network of organizations focused on communicating issues of Arctic climate change to policy makers and the general public. Arctic 21, which…
Brendan Rogers

Brendan M. Rogers, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1507   |   Email  brogers@whrc.org Expertise  Wildfires, boreal forests, climate feedbacks, productivity Dr. Rogers is interested in how high latitude terrestrial ecosystems are impacted by climate change in…
Jonathan Sanderman

Jonathan Sanderman, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1505   |   Email  jsanderman@whrc.org Expertise  Carbon sink capacity, soil carbon and nutrient cycles, land-use and climate change Dr. Sanderman is a biogeochemist who specializes in understanding how…
Christopher R. Schwalm

Christopher R. Schwalm, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1534   |   Email  cschwalm@whrc.org Expertise  global environmental change, carbon cycle sensitivity, modeling frameworks Dr. Schwalm is interested in the interactions between the terrestrial biosphere, climate, land cover, ecosystem state,…
Wayne Walker

Wayne S. Walker, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1541   |   Email  wwalker@whrc.org Expertise  Forest measurement/monitoring, remote sensing, Amazon indigenous peoples, capacity building/training, REDD+ Dr. Walker is an ecologist and remote sensing specialist interested in applications of satellite…
 

Research Staff

Andréa D. de Almeida Castanho, Ph.D.

Phone   508-444-1572   |   Email   acastanho@whrc.org Expertise   biosphere-atmosphere system, numerical modeling, remote sensing applications Dr. Castanho is an environmental physicist interested in understanding the human impacts on the coupled…

Melissa Chapman, B.S.

Phone  508-444-1584   |   Email  mchapman@whrc.org Ms. Chapman contributes to forest landscape management and restoration projects in Costa Rica and Brazil. Her work focuses on applying microeconomic and social data to…

Robert Coady, B.S.

Email   rcoady@whrc.org Mr. Coady is interested in plant and systems ecology. He is currently assisting on a Naushon Island project that focuses on grassland restoration through different land management…
Tina A. Cormier

Tina A. Cormier, M.S.

Phone  508-444-1523   |   Email  tcormier@whrc.org Expertise  Earth observation, mapping, training Ms. Cormier uses remote sensing and GIS to model species’ responses to changes in environmental conditions, such as climate change….
Mary Farina

Mary Farina, M.A.

Phone  508-444-1556   |   Email  mfarina@whrc.org Expertise  Forest ecology, remote sensing, GIS, geography Ms. Farina contributes to biomass mapping projects using remote sensing and GIS. Prior to joining WHRC, she was…
Gregory J. Fiske

Gregory J. Fiske, M.S.

Phone  508-444-1539   |   Email   gfiske@whrc.org Expertise  Cartography, spatial data and analysis, and geospatial code development Mr. Fiske is a geographer whose background includes extensive use of geographic techniques including Geographic…
Wendy Kingerlee

Wendy Kingerlee, B.S.

Phone  508-444-1526   |   Email  wkingerlee@whrc.org Ms. Kingerlee is the project coordinator of the Brazil Program. She provides administration, budget management, and logistical support to the team and its…

Nolan Kitts, B.S.

Email  nkitts@whrc.org Mr. Kitts contributes to spatial and economic analysis of agriculture and land-use change for WHRC projects in the Brazilian Amazon. His work focuses on how nutrient, water,…
Paul LeFebvre

Paul A. Lefebvre, M.A.

Phone  508-444-1519   |   Email  paul@whrc.org Expertise  Amazon, GIS Paul Lefebvre is a specialist in Geographic Information Systems and field instrumentation, who has worked in the Center’s Amazon program since 1995. From 1995…

Sarah Ludda Ludwig, M.S.

Phone  508-444-1528  |   Email  sludwig@whrc.org Expertise   Boreal and arctic ecosystems, statistics and modeling Ms. Ludwig is a biogeochemist interested in carbon, nitrogen, and phosphorus cycling in arctic and boreal ecosystems….

Margot McKlveen, B.S.

Phone  508-444-1543   |   Email  mmcklveen@whrc.org Ms. McKlveen studies ecosystem structure and function in urban and suburban landscapes. She is the project manager of the Boston urban homogenization study, part…

Christina Minions, B.Sc.

Ms. Minions works with a team of researchers to measure carbon dioxide emissions from the Arctic and on a project examining the seasonal amplitude of CO2 concentrations in the…
Alexander Nassikas

Alexander Nassikas, B.A.

Phone  508-444-1520   |   Email  znassikas@whrc.org Expertise  Carbon emissions, land use, land cover change, global tropics Mr. Nassikas contributes to two projects at WHRC. He manages a computer model that tracks carbon emissions…

Alicia Peduzzi, Ph.D.

Phone   508-444-1562   |   Email   apeduzzi@whrc.org Expertise   remote sensing application, natural resource management issues, in-country capacity building Dr. Peduzzi’s research has centered on the application of remote sensing to…
Johanne Pelletier, photo by Gabi Kislat

Johanne Pelletier, Ph.D.

Phone  508-444-1537   |   Email  jpelletier@whrc.org Vous pouvez communiquer avec moi en français / Puede comunicarse conmigo en español Expertise  Emissions from land-use change, forest ecology, REDD+, MRV, Latin America, Africa Dr. Pelletier is an…
Amanda Poston

Amanda E. W. Poston, B.A.

Phone  508-444-1533   |   Email  aposton@whrc.org Expertise:  International grants management Ms. Poston manages budgets and provides administrative and logistic support for the Center’s Reduced Emissions from Deforestation and forest…
Kathleen Savage

Kathleen Savage, M.Sc.

Phone  508-444-1542   |   Email  savage@whrc.org Expertise  Ecology, education, plant sciences Ms. Savage is currently working in the Center’s carbon cycling program. She obtained a B.Sc. degree and an M.Sc….

Lindsay G. Scott, M.S.

Phone  508-444-1514   |   Email  lscott@whrc.org Expertise   Project management and problem solving, science literacy and community engagement, research and protocol development Ms. Scott is an ecosystem biogeochemist with interests in soil microbial community…

Megan Shave, Ph.D.

Email  mshave@whrc.org Dr. Shave is an ecologist interested in the dynamics of coupled natural and human systems, especially the valuation of ecosystem services provided by birds….

Kylen Solvik, B.A.

Phone  508-444-1567   |   Email  ksolvik@whrc.org Mr. Solvik studies the effects of climate change on boreal forests with a focus on climate feedbacks from forest fires. He is…

Hillary L. Sullivan, M.S.

Phone   508-444-1527    |    Email   hsullivan@whrc.org Expertise   Salt marsh biogeochemistry Ms. Sullivan is a biogeochemist, studying how human-induced activities and land-use affect the structure and function of important ecosystems….

Anya Suslova, M.Sc.

Phone  508-444-1530   |   Email  asuslova@whrc.org Area of Expertise  Economics, river ecology Ms. Suslova works on implementation of the Arctic Great Rivers Observatory (Arctic-GRO) project. She was born and…

Michael Whittemore, M.S.

Email  mwhittemore@whrc.org Mr. Whittemore is a vegetation ecologist, with an interest in land-use legacy effects on forest systems. He contributes to the Boston urban homogenization study,…
 

Adjunct Experts

George M. Woodwell

George M. Woodwell, Ph.D.

The Woods Hole Research Center was founded in 1985 as an institute for research on the Great Issues of Environment by renowned ecologist George M. Woodwell, whose broad interests…

Andrea Cattaneo, Ph.D.

Expertise  Economic modeling, land use change, environmental program design, economics of climate change & food security Andrea Cattaneo is an economist with over 20 years of experience in examining economic issues…

Anping Chen, Ph.D.

Expertise  ecosystem feedbacks, climate and terrestrial ecosystem carbon cycles Dr. Chen is an ecologist working on a variety of topics in ecology and climate change, in particular ecosystem feedbacks to…
Scott Goetz

Scott Goetz, Ph.D.

Expertise  Arctic, United States, biodiversity, remote sensing, landscapes, mapping Scott Goetz is a Professor at Northern Arizona University. Between 2002 and 2016 he was a scientist at the Woods Hole…

Robert Howarth, Ph.D.

Prof. Robert Howarth is an Earth systems scientist and ecosystem biologist. Some of his areas of research include the application of science to sustaining the biosphere; biogeochemistry and aquatic…
Holly Hughes

Holly Hughes, B.S.

Expertise  Carbon cycling, Maine Ms. Hughes manages research projects in the Howland Research Forest, Howland, ME in collaboration with the U.S. Forest Service, NASA, NOAA, Harvard University, and others. The focus…
Josef Kellndorfer

Josef Kellndorfer, Ph.D.

Expertise  REDD+, remote sensing, forests, climate change, high performance computing Dr. Kellndorfer’s research focuses on the monitoring and assessment of terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, and the dissemination of Earth observation findings…

Paulo Moutinho, Ph.D.

Expertise  Amazon deforestation, biodiversity and climate change, REDD+ Dr. Paulo Moutinho is an ecologist interested in understanding the causes of deforestation in the Amazon and its consequences on biodiversity, climate…

Daniel Nepstad, Ph.D.

Dr. Nepstad is a tropical ecologist whose research has focused on the response of Amazon forests to climate change, fire, and land use. In 1998, he developed the Amazon…
John D. Schade

John D. Schade, Ph.D.

Expertise  Biogeochemistry, ecological stoichiometry, earth and water ecosystems, interdisciplinary knowledge sharing Dr. Schade is a biogeochemist studying the interface between land, water and atmosphere. His goal is to understand how…

Britaldo Silveira Soares-Filho

Britaldo Silveira Soares-Filho is a full professor in the Department of Cartography, Institute of Geosciences at the Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG), Brazil. His research focuses on environmental modeling…
Thomas A. Stone

Thomas A. Stone, M.A.

Expertise  Cape Cod and Islands, sea level rise, geology, GIS, remote sensing, land cover change Mr. Stone is an environmental geologist who uses remote-sensing technology to map vegetation and to determine…

Richard S. Williams, Jr., Ph.D.

Expertise  airborne and satellite remote sensing Dr. Williams is a research geologist who uses airborne and satellite remote sensing to monitor changes in the Earth’s glaciers (particularly sensitive indicators of…